Back to All Events

Six Tastes of Ayurveda Cooking Class

In this two-part series that is a cooking class and informational lessons, I will teach students on the fundamentals of an Ayurvedic diet, so that they can lead a happier and more mindful relationship with food. The first part explores the Six Tastes of Ayurveda to understand how to certain combinations influence our mental and physical condition. 

Ayurveda believes that for a meal to feel complete and satisfying (satiating) each of the six tastes — sweet, salty, sour, pungent (spicy), bitter and astringent — must be represented. The taste of food is not a coincidence. Each taste corresponds with a combination of elements and has an influence on your mental and physical condition. Learn to define the six tastes and how to use taste as roadmap to healthy nutrition intuition.

Six Taste Menu
Tulsi Ginger Tea
Leek, Pea, Fennel, Soup with Mint Chutney
Wild Fermented Cabbage
Raw Golden Beet, Carrot, Dandelion Slaw with Mung Bean Sprouts
Golden Milk